Info

Appointment Television

Appointment Television is a podcast about the TV you want to make time for. Every Thursday Margaret, Kathryn, and Andrew will revisit old shows, discover new ones, and debate everything from highbrow dramas to episodes of The Bachelor.
RSS Feed
Appointment Television
2020
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2019
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August
July


All Episodes
Archives
Now displaying: September, 2018
Sep 27, 2018

It's a bevy of badness this week, alas. We talk about the recent upheaval at CBS after Les Moonves's MeToo moment finally arrived, and point out some recommended reading for this era of revelation and anguish. We also have a recommendation for other guys who've been the subject of MeToo allegations who are now trying to creep back into the public sphere, which is: don't! 

From that cheerful topic, we move on to some more lighthearted yelling about TV journalists, namely, terrible depictions of female journalists on TV. Because it's a fest of awful, we also introduce our next TV bookclub... THE NEWSROOM.

Sep 20, 2018

This week we evaluate the new era (in the US, at least) of the Great British Bake-Off, which is still at the very least a Good British Bake-Off. Then we try to talk about other reality television shows but mostly end up yelling about the Bachelor again.

SHOW NOTES

Where to find all of Noel Fielding’s shirts: https://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/fashion/great-british-bake-off-2018-noel-fielding-shirts-where-how-to-buy-them-ranked-a8534251.html

The New Jersey Life of Macaroni Rascals: http://travel.cnn.com/tokyo/none/macaroni-rascals-mtvs-jersey-shore-comes-japan-490032/

The Great British Baking Show on Netflix: https://www.netflix.com/title/80063224

Sep 13, 2018

Andrew, compelled by a patron’s dollars, watches an episode of professional wrestling; Margaret and Kathryn learn a lot about someone named Joey Ryan and also that wrestlers can be like the Dred Pirate Roberts. We then have a chat about what makes for a good TV narrator, in which Kathryn gesticulates for a while about the new Lifetime series You, and we debate the relative merits of Carrie from Sex and the City versus JD from Scrubs.

Sep 6, 2018

This week, a return to a time-honored tradition: we run down a bunch of fall TV shows and we each pick a good one and a bad one to watch. Enjoy! Or don't! 

SHOW NOTES: 

Whiskey Cavalier: https://abc.go.com/shows/abc-new-shows/news/shows/whiskey-cavalier-coming-soon-to-abc

Chilling Adventures of Sabrina: https://www.netflix.com/title/80223989

The Purge: http://www.usanetwork.com/thepurge/cast

My Brilliant Friend: https://www.hbo.com/my-brilliant-friend

New Amsterdam: https://www.nbc.com/new-amsterdam

You: https://www.mylifetime.com/shows/you/about

God Friended Me: https://www.cbs.com/shows/god-friended-me/

Manifest: https://www.nbc.com/manifest

1